Robbinsdale Armstrong and Robbinsdale Cooper will be heading back to the MSHSL State Debate Tournament.

Senior Claire Peavey and juniors Andrew Urevig and Tanner Berris will represent Armstrong.  Andrew finished as the Section 4AA Champion and goes back to the state tournament after taking 2nd place last year.  This will mark the second time Robbinsdale Armstrong has qualified to the state tournament.

Seniors Collin Brown and Celisia Stanton, junior Olivia Heusinkveld and sophomore Seth Thompson will represent Cooper.  Celisia will be attending the state tournament for her second time.  Collin will be the first student in 112 year history of the MSHSL State Debate Tournament to qualify four times in Lincoln-Douglas debate.  This marks the ninth year in a row Robbinsdale Cooper has qualified to the state debate tournament.

“To be able to bring seven students to the state tournament is an amazing accomplishment for both schools.  Our success has only been possible because of the hard work of everyone on the team, working together and pulling for each other,” said Head Debate Coach DJ Brynteson.

The state tournament will be held on the campus of the University of Minnesota on January 18th and 19th.  The MSHSL State Debate Tournament was first held in 1902.  The Robbinsdale Debate team is coached by DJ Brynteson, Chyenne Thibodo and Emilia Spalding.

For more information about the state debate tournament or Robbinsdale Debate please contact DJ Brynteson, 763-458-4702

4 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *