Armstrong, Cooper students heading to the 2017 MSHSL State Debate Tournament

Armstrong Debate

Juniors Helen Radovic and Hailey Imbach will represent Armstring in Public Forum debate.  Radovic and Imbach earned Section 6AA Public Forum Runner-up honors.  This will be Helen’s second trip to the MSHSL State Tournament.  Last year she finished as a Quarter-Finalist in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.  This will be Hailey’s first apperance.  This is the first time Robbinsdale Armstrong has ever qualified to the MSHSL in Public Forum debate.  Joining her teammates, Sophomore Maggie Wuollet will debate in Lincoln-Douglas Debate.  This is Maggie’s first appearance to the state tournament.  This will mark the sixth year in a row Robbinsdale Armstrong has qualified to the State Tournament.

Cooper Debate

Senior Michael White and Junior David Necas will represent Robbinsdale Cooper.  This will be the third consecutive year Michael and David have qualified to the MSHSL State Debate Tournament.  David and Michael finished in 3rd and 5th place respectfully to qualify to the state tournament.  This is Cooper’s 13th consecutive trip to the MSHSL State Tournament.

“Qualifying five students to the state tournament is an amazing accomplishment for both schools.  Our success has only been possible because of the hard work of all the students and coaches working together and pulling for each other.” said Head Debate Coach DJ Brynteson.

The state tournament will be held on the campus of the University of Minnesota on January 13th and 14th.  The MSHSL State Debate Tournament is the oldest state tournament in Minnesota, first held in 1902.  The Robbinsdale Debate team is coached by DJ Brynteson, Chyenne Thibodo, Rob Cegla, Celisia Stanton and Andrew Urevig.

For more information about the State Debate Tournament or Robbinsdale Debate please contact Head Debate Coach DJ Brynteson, 763-458-4702.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *